A Ride Well Worth Taking

Image   Hello from Lincoln City, Oregon, a tourist and retirement community located on the Pacific coastline.  I finally made it to the west coast, and the views in this town are breathtaking and have made the miles I rode well worth it.  I can see why it’s a tourist attraction and why people choose to retire here.  And I must admit after taking more than 3 years to get here I thought about putting down some roots and just staying here, but once again the uncharted road is calling out to me.  So my stay here in Lincoln City will be brief.

After getting my tent set-up at the Devils Lake RV Park, I biked on over to the Pacific Ocean.  Yes, I know I was camped right by this lake, but I wanted to dip my toes into that awesome ocean.  It was an inspirational feeling.  At that very moment in my life had I not already believed in God, I would have to believe in Him now for there is nothing greater than feeling this mighty ocean crash against your legs bathing them in its cool refreshing water.  The salt smell in the air was euphoric.  No way could I say this mighty ocean was not a creation of God.

I sat on the beach for several hours thinking about my life, my journey, and my family.  I felt peace where peace hadn’t been for a while.  I knew that the fatigue of riding these past 2,190 miles had taken its toll on me, but now sitting here seeing the Pacific Ocean made all that fatigue melt away.  I had accomplished something I never had been able to do before.  So many diets I’d been on, so many attempts to make exercise a part of my life and yet each time I found that my lazy side would win.  But here I am, sitting on this beach knowing that I had just made it the first leg of this trip I started over 3 years ago, a trip that was supposed to help me lose the weight that doctor of mine had said made me a candidate for weight reduction surgery.

Okay, so I’m already delving into my real life as I talk about my doctor recommending me for lap band surgery.  I’m sure he meant well with his sage advice, but I know that most of those drastic weight surgeries give one a quick fix, but doesn’t allow the brain to recognize that the body has lost a bunch of weight.  At my age my mind is confused enough I didn’t need to add in quick weight loss to add to the confusion.  Besides I have still managed to shed over 30 pounds.

And I know that this ride has not only helped me lose weight, it’s helped me through a lot of other life issues.  I no longer argue with my mother about the number of beers she’d like to have each day, but rather I simply tell her “this is how many you get.”  It irritates her that I won’t raise my voice giving her the opportunity to argue back and blame me for starting a fight.  When one remains calm with someone who is angry, it’s hard for the angry person to stay angry.

I guess that’s why so many counselors are so calm when they are counseling someone, much like our wonderful Life Connections counselors at Catholic Charities.  These women are such calming forces not only with the clients they see, but with day to day work issues.  I’m blessed to know and be a part of each of their lives.

I’ve had people recently tell me how proud they are of me for staying dedicated to this ride, for caring for my mother, for taking on the whole process of writing a book about this journey I’m on all the while I’m working a full-time job.  And I thank them all for their compliments, but really, isn’t this all just a part of life?  Isn’t this what God wants us to be doing, to not take life for granted, to utilize the talents He’s given us, to be selfless with the way we live our lives?  I don’t see anything I’ve done now or in the past as being any greater or lesser than anyone else on this fine earth.  We all are just one big family of God and if my little blog stories help someone through a difficult time or if it can impart a smile on someone’s face then I feel I’ve accomplished a task given to me by God.  Thank you all so much for following me on my journey as it has all been well worth the effort and as always, let’s keep going the distance.

29 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Becky Rahder McCoy said,

    Betsy, I have just read your blog and it is incredible!! You have a gift for writing and your journey has been inspiring. Also it has brought back some wonderful memories for me about when our families used to hang out together and used to go to Chadron and Fort Bob and South Dakota. I just saw Pat and Tom at Katie Rahder’s wedding and it just just reminded me how I love you all so much and miss our times together. Keep up your amazing writing and your biking! My love to you, your Mom, and the rest of your family. Becky Rahder McCoy

    • 2

      Thank you so much. I’m thrilled that you find my work inspiring. It has been quite the experience for me even though most of the places I write about I’ve never actually been to, but the point to this whole journey is to share information about places and the possibility of what it’s like to be in these places. I love writing about life’s lessons as I’ve been able to make some crucial changes in my own life. I’d like to ask you to invite your friends to read my blog. And we will always have those fond memories of Chadron, Fort Bob, and those Black Hills trips. Mom and I are a little sad knowing that 40% of Chadron State Park was burned in this summer’s fires, but the parts we use are still there. Mom and I still make our annual pilgrimage there each year and we still enjoy the serenity this park affords a person. My love to all of you.

  2. 3

    I am continuing my trip through all 50 states and will be researching the different places I go to, albeit virtual and not real, but at least it gives you, as my reader, and myself the chance to learn about the wonderful places each state has. And if I can throw in a lesson or two to at least get one to thinking, so much the better. I invite you to come back as I should be posting another blog today or tomorrow and I invite you to have your friends check out my blog too. Thanks so much for your comments as they are truly appreciated.

  3. 4

    I just want to say I’m all new to weblog and certainly enjoyed this web site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have perfect articles. Appreciate it for revealing your web site.

  4. 6

    Adam Cervone said,

    Anything you put in your blog just makes me amaze, great wordplay and structure of words

  5. 8

    You need to edit this, there are errors that concerns the content of the post

  6. 12

    So happy that you are enjoying my blog. I’m fairly new at blogging myself, but I’ve been instructed that you need to blog frequently to keep your fans coming back. I wasn’t good about that in the beginning and probably lost a few readers in the process. Be honest and write from the heart and I think you’ll do fine. What is your blog about? I’d like to check it out. Happy Thanksgiving and good luck with your blog.

  7. 13

    Lino Amoros said,

    I never been so interested in your post, plus, you keep me coming back to read more

  8. 15

    Willene Teel said,

    You can definitely see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  9. 17

    Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  10. 19

    You’ll be getting more soon. I have 7 more miles to get to the next town on my virtual trip, and then I’ll do another post. Hope you keep coming back for more stories.

  11. 20

    When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

  12. 22

    powered by said,

    A insightful blog post there mate . Cheers for posting !

    • 23

      Thanks. I have a lot of fun researching the different places I go to on my virtual bike trip then I try to add in a little something to make one think. I know many of my posts have made me rethink how I’m living my own life. Hope you return as I’ll be posting another blog today.

  13. 24

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting .

    • 25

      Just put a new post out there. Check it out, too. Glad you liked it. I do try to always have some sort of message or something in my post that makes one think about how they can improve their life. That’s what my virtual bike trip is all about, making life changes.

  14. 26

    I’d been honored to get a call coming from a friend as he uncovered the important ideas shared on your site. Looking at your blog publication is a real excellent experience. Thank you for taking into account readers just like me, and I desire for you the best of achievements for a professional in this surface area.

  15. 28

    bing.com said,

    bing.com

    A Ride Well Worth Taking | Going The Distance Blog


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

