A Time to Rest and Regroup

ImageI decided to stay in Trinidad for a while longer.  It’s not that I was enthralled with what Trinidad has to offer, although it’s a very nice town, but I just felt the need to rest and regroup.  I’ve been on the road for such a long time, and my body needed a little rejuvenating along with my heart, my soul, and my mind.

I’ve taken great pride in what I’ve accomplished, but the fatigue from riding the road seems to have gotten the better of me.  I was no longer seeing the beauty around me.  Instead, I found myself cussing each driver that drove a bit too close to me, or counties that do very little on road improvements.

I knew that it was time for an extended rest so that I could get back to seeing all that God has placed around me.  My hotel was already providing me with a spectacular view of the ocean.  I spent several mornings sitting out on my deck watching the waves crash in.

I took joy in the seal families located on a rocky point just down from my hotel deck.  It amazed me how attentive the cows were with their young, and when I say “cows” I’m not referring to moo cows but to the female seals.  The male seals, called bulls, were quite aggressive at times.  I had to laugh at how similar humans are when courting the opposite sex.  The males strut their stuff while the females act somewhat unimpressed by their antics.

Now don’t start writing to me telling me how offensive my words are when I compare human behavior to animal behavior.  I only meant that as superior as we are to any other living group, we still show signs of similarities, even though those similarities are stretched some.  And it was still fun watching those bulls try to be the king of the colony.  It got my mind off of the hectic pace I had laid out for me, and got me back to a good spot in life.

I don’t know how long I’ll be staying here.  I’ve actually thought about looking for some sort of temp job just to add a little to my wallet, but for right now my finances are holding steady so I may just continue to rest and regroup.

And in my real world, Catholic Charities of Central Colorado big fundraiser event is over.  There’s still some work that needs to be done to finalize our numbers, but the stress of preparing for this huge event is now behind us.

We are all striving to regroup and get our lives back to normal.  Some will have more of an opportunity to rest, while others simply have to adjust their lives back to the normal range.  I am one of those adjusting my life back to a point where I can sit and visit with my elderly mother, do some cleaning, and I can get back to writing since writing is such a passion of mine.

And don’t go thinking that every hurdle in life is some sort of punishment from God.  Sure, He may be testing you, trying to teach you some sort of lesson, but sometimes stuff happens and it’s nothing more than that.

So as we go about our daily grind, take some time to rest, to regroup, so you can continue to enjoy all that God has placed before us.  And as always, let’s keep going the distance.

24 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kathy said,

    So true about hurdles in life. They aren’t God’s punishments. Sometimes God is trying to mold us or lead us somewhere through the difficulties life throws at us; and sometimes they are just what they are. Good blog!

  2. 2

    Waylon said,

    I am genuinely delighted to read this webpage posts which consists of
    tons of useful data, thanks for providing these data.

  3. 8

    Genia said,

    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to
    get there! Thank you

  4. 9

    Gabriele said,

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web
    browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog
    visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  5. 10

    rdaforum.com said,

    You have made some really good points there. I looked on the
    web for more information about the issue and found most people will
    go along with your views on this web site.

  6. 11

    Rebecca said,

    Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  7. 13

    I got this site from my friend who told me on the topic of
    this website and now this time I am visiting this
    website and reading very informative content at
    this time.

  8. 15

    Hi! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I
    feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be
    interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to
    hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  9. 19

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while
    people consider worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take
    a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  10. 23

    I love it when individuals come together and share opinions.
    Great blog, continue the good work!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

