Priorities

PrioritiesI can’t be sure why I’m poking along, taking my time getting to McKinleyville, California. It was only 22 miles from Trinidad, but I just couldn’t seem to ride very far each day. I found my mind wandering a lot, and about nothing special.

The views of the ocean were spectacular. I could hear the ebb and flow of the waves as they rhythmically move, almost like some sort of dance. At one point, there was a parking area off the side of the road with access to the beach.

I decided to take time out from this ride and do some reflecting. Water always helped me feel close to God, and God was who I was missing right then.

As I sat on the beach, allowing the ocean to tickle my toes, I thought back as to why I seemed to feel depressed. The weather had been picture perfect, so I knew that wasn’t it. My money was holding out, and I wasn’t yearning for any nourishment.

I decided to think back as to when this depressed feeling started. I had been unsuccessful finding any type of volunteer work in Trinidad, but that hadn’t bothered me. I took advantage of my time there and did a lot of sightseeing.

Then it hit me, while I was out snooping around, I came across an old man who was kneeling before some sort of memorial that had been erected in his backyard. I quietly watched this man as he prayed; at least I think he was praying. When he finished, I saw him touch a photo that had been imbedded into the stone memorial. I could make out that the photo was of a woman.
I allowed myself to assume this woman was the man’s wife. I figured he recently lost his wife, and was still mourning the loss. Judging by his frailty and white hair, I figured the man to be in his late 80’s or maybe early 90’s. Assuming he and his wife married young, I figured they had been married over 60 years. How hard that would be to love someone that long and be the one left behind.

Later that day, as I sat at the diner counter eating my lunch, I inquired about the old man. My waitress, a middle-aged woman, knew exactly who I was talking about, but some of my assumptions were wrong. The man was 92, but the photo was a picture of his daughter who had passed away over 60 years ago.

The man had been a salesman which took him away much of the week. His daughter would often beg him to come to one of her baseball games, but Jim, the old man, always explained that work came first. His daughter grew to accept the fact that her father’s job took him away, and unlike her friends’ parents, was unable to be a bigger part in her life. Her mom would show up occasionally, but most game days, the mother needed to be home with their other children.

On one sunny day, the girl headed off to practice and was struck by a speeding car. She was killed instantly. Her father was away and couldn’t be reached by phone since there weren’t any cell phones back then. His wife had to wait until he phoned her to give him the tragic news.

My heart grew heavy thinking about how this father must have felt hearing that horrible news long distance. I began to realize just how good things like cell phones, internet, and other modern devices are to communicating with others. I had often condemned the popularity of texting stating that it takes away the closeness between people, but this story made me rethink my position on this.

As I continued to listen, my waitress grew solemn while she swallowed hard before finishing her story. She said, “That man was my father. He was never the same after my sister was killed.”
I made my condolences, quietly finished my lunch, and got on my way. I had been thinking how tragic it had been that the man had never seen his daughter play baseball, probably missed birthdays, first attempts at anything, and wasn’t there the day the accident happened.

I soon realized that my depression was based off of the number of times I had ignored a loved one, claiming to be too busy for them. Subconsciously, I had been thinking how selfish my ride seemed to be, but then I realized that I was still doing God’s work. I thought back to all the wonderful people I had met and who had helped me along my way.

As I sat watching the waves dance, I decided that the best thing I could do to remedy my situation was to call family and friends more often. I even thought that some of my nieces and nephews may like to join me on some of this ride. How great would that be to have that kind of quality time with a loved one.

I got up, brushed the sand off of me, and headed back to my bike. I grabbed my phone, called each of my siblings, and told them how much I love them and miss them. Then I called a few friends and my nieces and nephews. Surprisingly, my middle niece said she’d love to ride with me. Her job is with a local ministry, and they decided she could do some ministering along the way.
I’ll be meeting up with Sarah in Eureka, California. I have new found energy since Eureka is only about 25 miles from where I stood. I felt like I had my priorities straight again. Never would I ever take any loved one for granted for we just don’t know when God calls them home.

And in my real world, I just experienced losing my uncle. He lived in California for years. I remember when I was growing up, looking forward to seeing Uncle Hal because he had traveled the world, seen so much, and had such delightful stories to share.

My sister, brother-in-law, and I took a trip out to see him about ten years ago. We had a blast and Hal had shown us so many wonderful sights around the San Francisco area. Then we helped him cull through some personal items that he was thinking about parting with. Most of the items were household items. He gave me this fabulous set of Royal Dalton china that I display proudly in my hutch.

About five years ago, my uncle’s health started going downhill. My sister and I must have said at least a dozen times in the past two years that we needed to get back out to see Hal since he was not able to come see us anymore.

We kept saying, “Maybe next year we can plan a trip out there.” Now it’s too late. Hal has been called home to be with God, and we are left to mourn like the fictitious man at the beginning of my blog.

As my sister and I drove back to Nebraska, where Hal was laid to rest, we spoke about how we had not been good about prioritizing our lives to accommodate the aging relatives we still have. We were grateful that we were able to see some of those relatives at Hal’s funeral, and we are now busy trying to make plans for some sort of family reunion somewhere halfway between the places we live.

Life is too short to spend most of your time working. As important as our jobs are to our livelihood and the people we touch on with any jobs we have, we have to know when to say, “I’m going home to be with my family. That piece of work can wait until tomorrow.”

You see, the work will always be there, and if you aren’t there to do it, someone else will get it done. But you may not have another opportunity to see that school play, a first date, or a special birthday. And for those of you who still have parents who are living, take the time to do things with them even if it’s a little inconvenient for you.

Also, recognize when others, who value family time a little more than you might, need more personal time than maybe you do. Just because you are focused on work projects, doesn’t mean they need to be just like you. God made us alike in a lot of ways, but He also made each of us individually.

I’m going to take this opportunity to say “thank you” to my boss and CEO of Catholic Charities of Central Colorado for giving me the personal time off to attend my uncle’s funeral. As my family and I mourn our loss, I can be thankful that I work for a great bunch of people who do recognize that we all need to prioritize the work we do into our personal lives.

So before you race off to another meeting, or head to the gym before going home, take some time to at least call someone and say, “Hey, have I told you lately just how much I love you?” And as always, let’s keep going the distance. God bless you all, and I love you.

110 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kathy said,

    Very important thoughts with this one. We must always try to be good servants to each others’ needs while we can. Thank you for your insights and for making me think.

  2. 3

    Becky Rahder McCoy said,

    good advice. so sorry about your Uncle Hal. miss you guys, wish we could find a way to all get together and share good times again. keep writing, love to read your blog.

    • 4

      We miss you all too. Maybe we could do some sort of “We” committee reunion somewhere. Of course, with Mom, it would have to be Chadron since that’s the only place I can get her to go. She makes it difficult to stay in touch with family, but then I figure she deserves to live the rest of her life the way she wants. It gets hard seeing friends and families when they all have their own families now with their own family needs, but at least we stay in touch via FB and blogs. Thanks for your comments. My love to you, Mark, and your boys.

  3. 5

    Hello I am so delighted I found your website, I
    really found you by accident, while I was looking on Google for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have
    book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do
    keep up the superb jo.

    • 6

      I’m glad you found my blog even if by accident. I do hope you return to view previous posts and future posts. I try to keep my stories light and thought provoking. Thanks and do come back and feel free to share my blog posts with your friends. God bless you.

  4. 7

    Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this
    post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this
    post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    • 8

      Thanks for sharing my blog with your previous roommate. I do hope it inspired both you and your friend in a way that can better your life. I try to write stories to make a person think about how they are living their own life. I know, at times, what I write makes me make adjustments to my own life. Feel free to share with others and invite them to check out my blog.

  5. 9

    This page definitely has all the information and facts I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  6. 11

    Renee said,

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site daily, this website is really fastidious and the users are really sharing pleasant thoughts.

  7. 13

    Concetta said,

    magnificent put up, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  8. 15

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also go to see this webpage on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date news.

  9. 17

    Thank you for another great post. Where else may anybody
    get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

  10. 19

    Wow, awesome weblog layout! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for?
    you made running a blog look easy. The whole glance of your site is fantastic, let alone the content material!

    • 20

      I’ve been blogging since 2009. It’s been a fun experience researching and writing about different towns in this great country we live in. No need to go traveling abroad when we have such wonderful places to see right here.

  11. 21

    Hello, I think your web site could be having browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great website!

    • 22

      Sorry you are having browser issues. I don’t know enough about that type of thing to offer you any suggestions. I will be posting again soon, so please check back to see the next post. Thanks.

  12. 23

    Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work. If you are
    even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    • 24

      I am working on a series of books called Going the Distance. I’ve just completed book 2 and will start book 3 as soon as I’m done working on my platform. Please share my blog with your subscribers and your friends. Thanks so much.

  13. 25

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.

    In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Firefox.
    Excellent Blog!

  14. 27

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering
    issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody getting identical RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  15. 29

    What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.

    I hope to give a contribution & help different users like its
    aided me. Great job.

  16. 31

    Lamar said,

    What’s up, I log on to your new stuff daily. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep up the good work!

    • 32

      I’m done writing the second book in a series based off my blog. I hope to do a little more blogging now while I work on getting my books published. I could use my readers help by having you all share my blog with your friends. The more traffic I have on my blog, the better it looks for potential publishers. I’ll be posting a new blog, hopefully today. My niece will be joining me on my virtual trip. When I told her about this, she was thrilled and said she’d actually like to take a real trip like the virtual one I’m on. Thanks for your support.

  17. 33

    That is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise information… Many thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read article!

  18. 35

    I got this website from my pal who told me on the topic of this
    web site and at the moment this time I am visiting this
    web page and reading very informative articles or reviews here.

  19. 37

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us
    so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Fantastic blog and wonderful design and style.

  20. 39

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am
    a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange strategies with other
    folks, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  21. 41

    Fine way of explaining, and pleasant piece of writing to get facts regarding my
    presentation subject, which i am going to present in academy.

  22. 43

    Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group
    of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have
    done a marvellous job!

    • 44

      I enjoy blogging about my virtual bike trip. I learn a lot about this country we live in, and want to share my research in a fun way to my readers. Please share my blog with your friends.

  23. 45

    I have read so many content concerning the
    blogger lovers but this post is truly a fastidious post,
    keep it up.

  24. 47

    Roseanne said,

    What’s up, every time i used to check website posts here early in the break of day, since i love to gain knowledge of more and more.

  25. 49

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention
    that I have really loved browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

  26. 51

    Sienna said,

    Somebody essentially help to make critically posts I
    would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual publish extraordinary.

    Fantastic job!

  27. 53

    Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up the great
    work.

  28. 55

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website
    with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and terrific design and style.

  29. 57

    I constantly emailed this web site post page to all my associates, because if like to read it
    then my contacts will too.

  30. 59

    Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it ;) I’m going to revisit once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  31. 61

    Touche. Sound arguments. Keep up the great effort.

  32. 63

    Lora said,

    Wow, this paragraph is good, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things,
    thus I am going to convey her.

  33. 65

    Fantastic items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior
    to and you’re simply too magnificent. I actually like what you’ve bought
    here, really like what you are stating and the way in
    which through which you say it. You are making it
    enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it wise.

    I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful website.

  34. 67

    I blog frequently and I really appreciate your information.
    This article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and
    keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

    • 68

      Thanks for checking out my blog. I try to do one blog a week, although I missed last week. Hopefully I’ll have time to get a new post out there. It’s fun researching all the places I ride through even though I’m only there in a virtual sense. A am writing a series of books based off these blog stories and the path my virtual bike trip takes me. Keep checking back for new posts, and feel free to share my blog with your friends.

  35. 69

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This post posted at this web site
    is really fastidious.

    • 70

      Hope to be doing another blog story soon. Dealing with elder parent issues right now, but Mom seems to be improving, so I should be able to find the time to do another post. Thanks for being a regular visitor.

  36. 71

    Tanisha said,

    Great blog here! Also your web site quite a bit up very fast!
    What host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink on your host?
    I desire my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  37. 73

    At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast, ater having my breakfast coming again to read additional news.

    • 74

      I hope my stories inspire you as they have others. Thanks for visiting my blog site. Invite your friends to visit, too. Then they can also be a part of the “Going the Distance” phenomenon. I’m writing a series of books based off my blogs. Hope to get them published in 2014. Merry Christmas.

  38. 75

    RAM said,

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a
    new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

    • 76

      Thanks for such a wonderful comment. I’m happy my story could help you in some way. Do tell others about my blog. It’s a precursor to a series of books I’m writing titled after my blog – “Going the Distance”. Hope to get these books published in 2014. Merry Christmas

  39. 77

    came said,

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely neatly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information.
    Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

    • 78

      Thanks for your support. I hope to get another blog written this week. I’m working my way towards Vegas, but right now I’m about 20 miles from Yerington, NV, on my virtual bike trip. It’s fun to research the different towns I virtually ride through. Maybe some day, I’ll be able to actually visit some of these places I go to virtually. But until then, I invite you and your friends to tag along with me, and enjoy the ride.

  40. 79

    muscle gain said,

    Please lееt me know if you’re looking for
    a article writer for your blog. You Һave some really great poѕts and I feel I would be
    a goօd аsset. If you ever wɑnt to take some of the load off,
    I’d absolutly love to write ѕome content for your blog in echange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Thanкs!

    • 80

      I’m not looking for any help right now, but I’ll keep you in mind should I get to a point where I’m unable to blog as much as I should. Thanks for your interest.

    • 81

      Abiholar said,

      Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or soitehmng. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back..

  41. 82

    Hi colleaguеs, good piece of writing and nice urging ϲommented here, I am actually enjoying ƅy these.

    • 83

      Thanks. I hope to post a new blog soon, hopefully this week. Keep coming back and invite your friends to join in my virtual tour of the United States. And may we all keep going the distance.

  42. 84

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

    • 85

      My blog was set-up by my former boss. I don’t know if it costs my employer anything, but I haven’t paid anything for it. It’s my understanding that how mine is set-up was free and remains free. I know that WordPress has a level where it will cost you. Obviously, you would get more exposure by going with the higher level, something I’ll probably have to do some day. I know WordPress has a help option. Check that out to see if some of your questions can be answered through their FAQ. As for posting new blog stories, it’s pretty easy. Don’t let the internet intimidate you. You are a smart person, I’m sure, and can do this. I’m sorry I can’t help you with more, but I didn’t set my blog up, as stated before. I do think, though, that the way mine looks was simply one of the generic choices WordPress offers. Again, contact WordPress, I’m sure they can walk you through all of this. Good luck.

  43. 86

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site annd in accession capital to assert that I acquire
    inn fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will bee subscribing to
    your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  44. 88

    I believe what you said was very reasonable. However, consider
    this, what if you were to write a killer headline?
    I ain’t saying your information is not solid, however suppose you added something to possibly get folk’s attention? I mean Priorities | Going The Distance Blog is a
    little vanilla. You could look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create article
    headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might try adding a video or a related pic or
    two to grab readers excited about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  45. 90

    fire red 5s said,

    Priorities | Going The Distance Blog
    fire red 5s http://www.jordanpatros.com/

  46. 92

    I am really glad to read this blog pots which consists of tons oof valuable data, thanks for providing these kind of information.

  47. 94

    deep real said,

    Thanks for finally tɑpking about >Prioritieѕ | Going The Distance Blog <Loved it!

  48. 96

    Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • 97

      I didn’t create this blog, my former boss did. He simply showed me how to add new posts and how to check my stats. I do think he used one of their canned templates. Sorry I can’t be of more help.

  49. 98

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your
    blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write
    again very soon!

  50. 99

    home buyer said,

    Ƴou sҺould be a part of a contest foor one
    of thе greatest sites on the internet. I most certainly will recommend this site!

  51. 101

    Thankfulness to my father who stated to me regarding this weblog, this blog is genuinely remarkable.

  52. 103

    Hi there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I
    was researching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it
    all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read more, Please
    do keep up the awesome work.

  53. 105

    I like reading a post that can make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

    • 106

      And I love writing things that make one think. So glad I was able to do that with you. And your comments are always welcomed. I learn from what my readers say even if they criticize something I’ve written.

  54. 107

    I seriously love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my
    very own site and would like to know where you got this from or what the theme
    is named. Appreciate it!

    • 108

      I did not create my own blog web theme. My former boss did, but I think it was one of the canned theme wordpress offers. I’m not totally sure about that, though, and I do apologize for not being able to help you more.

  55. 109

    First off I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask
    if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.

    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Thanks!

    • 110

      I don’t want to sound overly religious, but if my mind seems to be cluttered and I have a hard time focusing, I pray. I ask the Lord for clarity so the words I’m trying to impart flow freely. If you aren’t a religious person and/or don’t feel comfortable praying, I’d take those 10-15 minutes you struggle to write and spend it in a quiet place where you can just let it go. In other words, maybe try meditating. I have found that writing in a quiet, uninterrupted place works best. If you have family who tend to be interruptions to you, ask them to give you a couple of uninterrupted hours to write. They may not like it right at first, but they will get used to it. I know my sister has gotten used to me saying, “Can’t talk right now, I’m writing.” And recognize that sometimes an interruption is the best medicine to get you off the fence should you find yourself on that fence. And lastly, I hate to admit I do this, but I talk to myself. I’ll ask myself, “Where is this person going? What are they seeing? Who are they with?” I do a lot of research about the places my characters go to since I like to be as accurate as I can about real places. And don’t be afraid to just start writing. You may end up canning all of it, but it gets the juices flowing. Stephen King wrote a book on writing. I highly recommend it. He states one needs to read every day and write every day. I don’t always succeed at that, but I’m definitely doing more reading and writing than I did before I started this blog. Good luck to you. And tell yourself everyday, “I am a writer.” You have to believe you are a writer so that others see you as one. It will happen. Have faith and stay true to your beliefs.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

