Riding Like the Wind

open-road

by Betsy Finley

It has been 26 days since I decided to recreate my imaginary bike ride from years ago. I started this trip in Aspen Colorado again and have made it to Vail. I’d like to say that it’s been smooth sailing and some days are very easy with me riding 7 to 8 miles.

And, then there are other days…. The reality of work exhaustion kicks in and makes me want to quit riding; sometimes, only within a half of mile from my destination! It is those times I try even harder to envision actually being on my bike trip…. I’ll tell myself, “Look, there’s the town, don’t quit now.”

It’s so rewarding riding into a town knowing that you pushed through the exhaustion and pain, and really went the distance.

I have to confess, though, that my greatest daily inspiration comes from a “fan” of my first blog post who told me to “Ride like the wind.” On days when I don’t feel like riding, but know I should, I think about those words–and the words of others who have commented about my imaginary bike trip–and I’m again inspired to not let them down. It is through their kind words of encouragement that allow me to bike to the base of Vail Pass.

I have about 20 miles to do to get to Copper Mountain. It may take me the rest of this week, but with those encouraging words bouncing around in my head, I’m able to make this trip in 2 days… we’ll see.

I have not yet ridden 10 miles, as I’m still working on strengthening my leg muscles, but I was only 2 miles from going 10 miles last Saturday. I know I have it in me, but at the very least I have managed to get myself off of that couch and onto my bike. And, I feel so much better!

Thanks for your support, my friends… And, I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Leave a Reply

