Imaginary or Real, It’s All Good

small town

by Betsy Finley

Whew!! I’m glad to have left the Interstate. It seems the back roads are an easier ride from the information on my trip-ticket; the next few towns being a little closer

together. I should be able to make it from town to town for the next few days although, according to my research, the next few towns are barely towns.

My first stop after leaving I-25 was Shawnee, Wyoming, a small unincorporated town. It made for a good rest stop, though. Town number 2 was superb. I spent the night at the

mayor’s home in Lost Springs, Wyoming. You may be wondering how it came to be that I spent the night at the mayor’s house. Well, Lost Springs is a town of 1, the mayor, and is known as the smallest incorporated town in the U.S.

As I rode into Lost Springs I noticed that the only business open was the “Lost Bar”. To my surprise, the mayor was there and was gracious enough to give me a tour of the town which is pretty much the Town Hall, an antique store where I was able to buy a trinket or two, the “Lost Bar”, an outhouse, the old jail, and a few dilapidated buildings that are standing only by the grace of God. It was nice to have spent the night in a real bed and the mayor was a great cook. What a pleasure to have come through this little town of one. Actually a few other people live there, but they were not included in the last census.

With each passing town I meet more and more people who add a little zest to my life. Some give me great history of the surrounding area, stories one would never read in a history book like those stories I heard in Van Tassell, Wyoming where it’s known as a ghost town although people still live there. Others give me tips on where to eat, places to avoid, and will often give me some home cooked food to take with me on my travels.

This is the way to see the United States. There are those people who are suspicious of the stranger in town, that crazy lady riding a bike across the U.S., but for the most part people are great. You just have to open your heart and mind and do a lot of listening. It helps that I’ve researched most towns I go through prior to getting to them. That research helps open those doors in towns where everyone knows everyone.

By next week I should be in Nebraska and will partake in the largest burger in the U.S. at Sioux Sundries in Harrison, Nebraska. I’m sure I’ll need to take a day off from riding after attempting to eat a 28 ounce hamburger. I think I’ll be eating leftovers for a couple of days.

And, as usual, I remind myself that this is my imaginary trip, but allowing my mind to visualize such adventures surely makes the miles fly by on what would have been a boring exercise routine; a routine that would have long been stopped had I not added a little imagination. I feel like a kid again playing imaginary games with imaginary friends. Watch a child play some imaginary game and you’ll see that in their mind it’s all real. Don’t allow the pressures of life drag you down, keep the child in you alive.

You, too, will see a change in your energy, work performance, relationships, and all other facets of life.

May God bless you all and let’s keep going the distance.

Leave a Reply

