No Whining Allowed

ImageAs I continue my trek to the west coast I find myself thinking that ending this trip in Dundee Oregon might just be the right thing to do as it’s taken me 3 times as long to get to this point, but then I tell myself to stop whining.  I know that road fatigue is my reason for even having such a thought and then I notice that there is a designated protected bike lane on this highway I’m on and I figure “Hey, this area deserves a good look see.”

As I ride down this highway I see vineyard after vineyard and wished that I was more of a wine drinker.  Then I think “why not at least take some wine tours and sample a little.”  My caution light goes off in my head knowing that I am a recovering alcoholic so I opt to avoid the wine tours.  In my head I chastise myself for not having more control over alcohol as now I’m going to be missing out on what could have been a fun tour.  Again I tell myself to stop whining.  If I really wanted to see how wine was made then I could take a tour and just not sample any if I thought it would send me on a binge.

As I ride farther into Dundee I see tons of restaurants and decide that maybe my safest bet is to sample the foods of this area as opposed to the wine.  I check in at the Dundee Manor Bed and Breakfast, a fabulous bed and breakfast indeed.  I am immediately told about several wine tours that I can take and I wonder “Is God testing me?”  As I get myself cleaned up after my ride that day, I keep thinking about those tours and if I would be able to actually take a sip of wine without the alcoholic repercussions.  I decide to do some praying on the issue and am pleased to feel a stronger urge to simply snoop around town and take in some of the local food fare.

I decide to eat lunch at the La Sierra Mexican Grill where I was able to dine for less than $10.00.  I was asked if I’d like to try any of their wine and chose to simply get a glass of lemonade, but again found myself having a pity party that I was unable to go on a wine tour.  Why did I have to have inherited that addiction gene from my parents?  Once again, my whining about my addiction was more than I could handle.

I inquired about what other sites I might want to partake in that would not cost me a great deal of money.  My waitress told me about the beautiful parks this town has and all were free as long as I enjoyed a good walk.  That was exactly what my whining mind needed so I tipped my waitress, paid my bill and headed towards Crabtree Park which I was told was quite picturesque.

As I neared the park I started seeing signs for Erath Vineyards and how they had daily wine tours.  My mind was ready to explode.  How could one town have so many wineries?  Well, my whining head just couldn’t take it anymore and I decided to tempt fate and take one of those tours.  I walked through Crabtree Park which truly was spectacular and on to Erath Vineyards where I was greeted by a delightful person who took me on a guided tour.  As we headed towards their tasting room I explained that I’d be unable to taste any wine, but was thrilled to see exactly how this one winery created their award winning flavors.

I went back to the bed and breakfast, had a wonderful meal that night at another local favorite then knew it was time to get some rest as that Pacific Ocean was calling to me.  I went to sleep that night knowing that I had conquered my whining, had faced my addiction and won, and was now graced with this lovely room that would provide my mind with the rest it needed to avoid any future whining spells.

And in my real world I think about the number of times I find myself whining about various things.  Sometimes I have reason to whine, but so often I must tell myself to stop and get on with life as there are people out there with a lot worse problems then I face on any given day.

Catholic Charities’ staff sees many of these people each day who have issues so much greater than the ones I face.  We get e-mails from loved ones hoping we’ve seen a family member who maybe went off their meds and has gone missing.  We have families who find their lives turned upside down and inside out when a layoff or medical crisis stretches their livelihood to the breaking point.  Some are familiar with this lifestyle, but others are new to it and are somewhat embarrassed to even be here asking for help.  It is these people who I say have every right to whine yet many of them don’t, they sit back patiently waiting for Catholic Charities to point them in the right direction and give them that hand up.

We all need a hand up every now and then so when you hear someone whining a little don’t think to yourself “Oh stop your whining!”  Instead tell yourself to listen to their whining and see if maybe you could possibly give them a hand up which simply could be suggesting where they could go to get some financial help.

And as I head home tonight whining that I still have 25 miles to ride before I’m actually at the Pacific Ocean, I’ll think about those people who maybe no longer have the ability to ride a bike and will thank God that He’s given me the drive to continue on this virtual trip I’m on.  And even though it’s taken me over 3 years to get to the west coast, I’m ecstatic that I’ve actually kept at this trip of mine.  It’s through you faithful readers that spurs me on and keeps me going the distance.  God bless you all and know that it is okay to whine every once in a while as long as you can get over it and move on in life.

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Thanks for enjoying my blog. I’m having fun researching different places in the U.S. for the virtual bike ride I’m on. I’m also working on a fictional book that is relational to the places I’ve visited so I do invite you to come back and read future blogs and to invite your friends to read my blog. This whole process has been a lot of fun and I did manager to make it to the Pacific Ocean, in a virtual world, last Saturday. My fake bike ride had definitely kept me riding my recumbent bike way longer than I’ve ever done before. And I hope to keep my followers interested in the stories I come up with.

  2. 2

    Bernd said,

    Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

    • 3

      You are so kind. I truly love the whole writing process and hope that I can add a bright spot in the lives of a few people along the way. As I continue my virtual trip across the United States, you will continue to see more blogs about my progress and even though the people I meet are mostly fictional, there are always aspects of each character that I’ve actually seen in people in my real life. And the life lessons I seem to refer to a lot are things that I know I need to address in my own life. If those lessons help someone else, so much the better. Take care and let’s keep going the distance, you, me, and all of your friends. Thanks.

  3. 4

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    • 5

      I would love it if you shared my blog with your facebook group. I’m honored that you want to do that and am pleased that my writing has touched on you. I try to write in a way that is not overbearing and preachy, and I hope that I can at least get people to think about different things in their life. Thank you so much for your support and do share my blog with anyone you know.

  4. 6

    Thank you for sharing my blog with your friends. I hope to continue to touch on people in a way that makes them think. I know, so often times, I find myself digging deep inside me for ways to change certain things and my blogging seems to help. I’ll be posting another blog here hopefully tomorrow so I invite you and all your friends to continue reading my blogs. It’s been a fun process as I research each town I ride through even though my ride is a virtual ride. Maybe some day God will see fit to allowing me to actually visit some of these places, but until then we can all keep going the distance together.

  5. 7

    I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. It’s a lot of fun coming up with the stories I share.

  6. 8

    Thanks for your kind words and support. Invite your friends to join in and they, too, can read about my trip across the United States.

  7. 9

    pit program said,

    Good post and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

    • 10

      I try to keep my ideas simple and to the point. Thanks for checking out my blog and come back to see where I’m headed on this virtual trip of mine. As for employment for professional writers, I have no suggestions. I work for a non-profit, and I know we are not hiring right now. Good luck in your job search.

  8. 11

    Cherno said,

    より:I simply want to say I’m beingner to weblog and honestly liked this web page. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You amazingly have really good articles. Cheers for sharing your website page.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

