A Little Fish in the Big Sea

My mind and body are in overdrive since dipping my toes in the Pacific Ocean in Lincoln City, Oregon.  I found myself riding harder, yet I was still taking in the beauty of this fine state.  My route, for this leg of the trip, takes me right down the Pacific coastline.  I find myself stopping frequently just to watch those waves crash against the rocks.  It’s an awesome sight, but it makes me realize just how powerful these waters are and how small I am compared to those mighty waves.  At one stop I can hardly believe my eyes; right off the shoreline I see several whales, and my heart does a flip flop as I take in the beauty and almost ballerina-like movements these giant mammals display.  I felt like I had died and gone to Heaven for seeing these creatures of God was awe inspiring.

I finally make it to Newport, Oregon, and get checked into the Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn.  It’s a nice hotel, not far from the shoreline.  I was told about the whale watching that I could participate in, and I was excited to tell them that God had already given me that opportunity.  The staff was pleased then told me about several other things I might opt to partake in such as the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Newport’s Yaquina Lighthouse.  I was told their goal, at this hotel, was to make my stay there as memorable as possible.  I had to ask “Is this because I’m the crazy lady riding across this country?”  The clerk smiled and said “Well, sort of, but truly, we try to make each guest feel special.”  I assured them that they had succeeded, and that I’d be telling all my friends about this place.

I took my bags to my room, knowing that my biking gear had been safely stored away in the hotel’s storage area.  I found myself tired and needing a nap.  I opened my window, and was immediately graced with a cool ocean breeze that lulled my tired body to sleep.  I dreamed that I was out on the ocean, and a whale had come up to my boat and allowed me to touch it.  I felt one with the ocean, one with the whale, and one with the world.  Then a wave crashed in over the side of my boat almost pushing me over the side.  Fear struck me, and I jolted awake.  I lay there for a moment thinking about that dream and wondering if there was any meaning to it.  I decided that maybe God was telling me that all things on earth are good, but that one needs to stay in the protection of His hands; after all, we are all just a little fish in the big sea.  And being a little fish in that big sea isn’t a bad thing, it just means you can’t throw caution to the wind and think that you are shielded from all evil.

I shook off the dream, although it continued to haunt me some, and took those recommended tours of the aquarium and lighthouse.  Both were spectacular and delivered everything that one finds in their advertisements.  I saw incredible fish and sea creatures, and the lighthouse was amazing.  It brought back fond memories of a trip my sister, brother-in-law, and I took to California several years ago where we saw a lighthouse just north of San Francisco with our uncle who lives in San Rafael.  It was such a fun trip, being able to see something you never see when you’ve lived inland all your life.  And to have had that time with our uncle, well, it was priceless.  My uncle is unable to take such trips now, so having those memories of that trip is something I hold near and dear to my heart.

That evening I ate at the Chowder Bowl, a fabulous restaurant with a superb seafood menu.  And upon my return to the hotel, I decided that this town was just too nice to leave after not even a full day.  I paid for another night at the hotel and was able to scope out the town the next day.  I had another fabulous meal at the Saffron Salmon, and knew when I went to bed that night that God had graced me with this wonderful experience. 

And in my real world I am sad to say that my boss, my mentor, is leaving Catholic Charities and moving on to other things in life.  He has made a profound difference in my life, and I’m happy that he became a part of my little sea.  I think our lives are like little pools of water, and when we combine them throughout the day it creates a larger body of water.  And when you think about all the people you come in contact with just in one day, imagine all those bodies of water banning together and creating that mighty ocean.  We are all a part of that great body of water, and we all have the ability to make a statement, an impact in that body of water.  Just because we are small in comparison doesn’t mean we aren’t needed to complete God’s work.  So remember that each of us has a place in this ocean of God and it is okay being a little fish in a big sea.  We can’t all be those mighty whales, but we can still be a vital part of this great world we live in.  God bless and may you be mighty no matter what size of fish you are.  And God bless my boss.  I pray that God continues to direct you through the waters of life so that our seas combined become an ocean.   And as always, let’s keep going the distance.

79 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    menard said,

    Well said! Always a pleasure to read your blogs. Lots of good things to think about.

    • 2

      Making people think, especially making myself think, is my true goal to writing this blog. The bike riding, the researching of these wonderful places we have in this great country of ours, is just icing on the cake. I hope you all continue to follow me as I make my way to the east coast.

  2. 3

    Becky Rahder McCoy said,

    love your descriptions and insight I am happy to be a small fish!

  3. 7

    I just want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and site-building and absolutely savored you’re web blog. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You surely come with awesome article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web-site.

  4. 9

    Thank you so much. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed my blog.

  5. 10

    Alexia Linan said,

    I find it hard to surf your blog, would you just adjust the site traffic in here?

    • 11

      I would like to, but unfortunately I didn’t set-up my blog and was only shown how to post new blogs and check for comments. I will ask about adjusting the site traffic in hopes that I can make it easier to surf. Thanks for pointing this out to me. Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. 12

    You build a satisfying post to read and appreciate, thank you!

    • 13

      Thanks. I have so much fun researching each place and coming up with some fictional tale that can be spun in a way that touches on a person’s soul. I don’t always achieve that, but that doesn’t stop me from writing and riding. I have never stayed with any exercise form longer than 2 months, so for me to still be riding over 3 years and counting is a win, win. I get some exercise, I get to research where my virtual trip is taking me giving me some ideas of places I’d like to visit, and touching on people like you. I’m blessed to have such great blog fans. Thank you again, and Happy Thanksgiving.

  7. 14

    Evita Kurtti said,

    I sense the different angle of the story here, please elaborate your idea

    • 15

      I was just trying to say that we may feel like what we do on a daily basis isn’t important, but it could be the littlest thing that is highly impactful in another person’s life. There is no one person more important in this world than anyone else. Do know that the first part of most of my blogs is fictional since I’m riding a recumbent bike for real and creating this fictional bike trip across the United States keeps me from getting bored. The last part of most of my blogs is what is truly going on in my life or is things that have gone on in my life. Hope this clears up any confusion I may have caused you. Happy Thanksgiving.

  8. 16

    Teena Reuter said,

    Very good posts of you, this deserves great responses from your subscribers

    • 17

      Thank you so much. I have so much fun researching the different places I go with hopes that I can impart in words what it must be like in these places and how just a simply act of kindness can change a person’s life. Happy Thanksgiving.

  9. 18

    Justa Sligar said,

    I appreciate your efforts on posting this great blog

  10. 20

    Keep working ,terrific job!

  11. 22

    Hi I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    • 23

      I’m so happy that you found me even if it was by mistake. I’m trying to blog more so I do hope you are able to return and read more of my tales about my virtual bike trip across the U.S. I hope to be in California by the end of the year.

  12. 24

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  13. 25

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  14. 29

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  15. 31

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  16. 35

    Lonnie Buyes said,

    Your blog is like a book, full of mysteries, every posts is another chapter.

    • 36

      I think our lives are like books, with each day being another chapter in our life. I am actually writing a book based on this blog. Hope you keep coming back for more stories as I continue my trek across the United States, virtual though it is.

  17. 37

    The structure for the web site is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your site. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

    • 38

      Gosh, I haven’t talked about my Epiphany since my first post so I was surprised to see the word in your comment. You are probably right in my Epiphany not truly being one, but I’ve been biking for the past 3 years and that’s longer than I’ve ever done any exercise program. I think my virtual bike trip is the only thing that has kept me from giving up riding my recumbent bike. At least I can visualize places I am riding to via my research I do prior to getting to the next town. I’m glad that you enjoy by blog.

  18. 39

    The vacation posts in your blog inspired me most to travel in places that possess a rare beauty of nature

    • 40

      I, too, am hoping to visit some of the places I write about. I’ve been to some of the earlier places I’ve written about, but Oregon is definitely a state I must go visit as the information I got off the Internet about the places I ride to on my virtual bike trip sound fascinating. Hope you can visit some of these wonderful places too.

  19. 41

    When are you going to post again? You really inform a lot of people!

  20. 43

    Hey there, I just hopped over to your website via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might generally read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thanks for making some thing worth reading.

  21. 45

    I will be posting another story this week, hopefully. And my trip will continue across the United States, so there should be a lot more to talk about as I research each place I ride to, virtual though it is.

  22. 48

    Only wanna comment on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the content material is really good : D.

    • 49

      Thanks for your comments. I can’t take credit for the website design as my boss did that, but I do write all the posts. It’s fun researching the towns I’m riding through in the virtual sense, since my bike trip is being done on a recumbent bike in my basement. But envisioning going to these places has kept me riding for over 3 years and that’s the longest I’ve ever kept at any exercise program. Come back for more posts as I continue my trek across the U.S.

  23. 50

    Thanks. I try to include some thought provoking topics in each of my posts. Mostly I do that for my own self as there’s lots of improvements I need to make in my own life, but if I can help someone else improve their life, so much the better. Glad you like what I post. I’ll be doing another post hopefully tomorrow or Thursday so hope you come back to read that one.

  24. 51

    Great Stuff, do you currently have a youtube account?

  25. 53

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, as well as the content!

  26. 55

    lv belt said,

    Hello there, I found your web site by way of Google while searching for a comparable subject, your site came up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

  27. 57

    If you could email me with some hints & tips about how you made your blog site look like this, Id appreciate it!

    • 58

      I get a lot of comments through spam about how I made this blog site. Most of those comments I delete, but I’ll answer this one to let you all know that I did not create this blog, my boss did. I have no idea how to create a new blog, how he came up with the look, and how to change things. The only thing I was shown was how to post new stories. I also know nothing about how to fix any kinds of feeds so all of you commenting how my site doesn’t load or doesn’t do something on the device you are using, sorry. I can’t fix it.

  28. 59

    Warrocks said,

    Really interesting points you’ve observed , thanks for posting .

  29. 60

    Anonymous said,

    I must voice my respect for your generosity in support of persons that really need assistance with in this study. Your special dedication to passing the solution up and down had become really practical and has really enabled guys like me to realize their dreams. Your personal useful help and advice signifies so much to me and substantially more to my colleagues. Thanks a ton; from everyone of us.

    • 61

      So happy you have found something good in my blog that helped you realize your dreams in life. My blogs are written to make one think outside the box, or so I hope they help in that way. I have achieved a lot since setting out on this epic virtual bike trip through all 48 contiguous states, and I hope my readers and fans can achieve their goals, too, even if those achievements don’t come from reading my blog. But if my blog helps in just a small way, then I’ve achieved another goal by knowing I’ve helped someone improve their life.

  30. 63

    That is very attention-grabbing, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and stay up for searching for more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  31. 65

    these said,

    Your method of telling everything in this article is truly nice, every one can simply
    be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  32. 68

    pay said,

    I have read a few just right stuff here.
    Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to make this sort of great informative site.

  33. 69

    example said,

    I like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

  34. 70

    I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

  35. 74

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website
    before but after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

  36. 78

    bookmarked!!, I really like your site!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

