Life’s Ups and Downs

Ups and DownsGosh, it seems like my biking friends and I are making good progress getting, but I feel an emptiness. I don’t know if it’s because I was outvoted about not staying in Hurricane and Apple Valley, Utah, or if I’m just feeling road fatigue. My mind thinks back when it was just me. I went as far as I felt like going, stopping where my heart felt content.

Now, I have these great people helping me achieve my goal, but as with anything when more than one is involved you have a difference of opinion. I didn’t feel like I’d expressed my discontent with traveling the forty-three miles to Colorado City, Arizona, but they all seem to be leaving me alone. And as with any bad day one has, I’ve put them in a lose/lose situation. If they rode close to me and tried to have a conversation, I’d probably tell them I needed my space. But they’ve already figured that out and have given me my space. I don’t like it.

Could I grow up some and simply ride up with them and start a conversation? Yes. Will I do that? Probably not today. I need the time to get in touch with myself, with God, and with all that surrounds me. I need to make sure I know how lucky I am to have these fine people watching over me, giving me a place to sleep, never asking for money for room and board, but just being good-hearted people. I need to look at the beauty that surrounds me and thank God for all He’s given me. And I need to give myself a quick kick in the behind and tell myself to get out of my funk. Life is too good to waste on such petty occurrences.

As we approach Colorado City, Arizona, my heart lightens. Carol slows up enough to say, “Hey, I know you were wanting to stay at those towns. I’m sorry we didn’t, but I’m glad to have those miles behind us.”

“I’m OK, Carol. I’m glad to be here in Arizona. I’ve spent way too much time on this trip already. It’s time to get some serious mileage behind me.”

“Well, we’ve decided that you get to pick the next town we’ll be staying in.”

I laugh, knowing Tuba City, Arizona is the next town, and that was 190 miles from here with not much in between. It was then I realized how important it was for me to be with my blessed friends. At least we’d have the fifth-wheel to stay in even if it were on some country road in the middle of nowhere. My heart lightened, and I gave Carol a hug and said, “We are a team. I choose to do what’s best for the team.”

That evening, after thanking my friends for taking such good care of me, I crawled into bed and thanked my Lord for ALL He has given me.

And in my real world, my ups and down came yesterday when I had to have my fifteen-year old sheltie euthanized. It wasn’t a hard decision for me, for I knew he was sick beyond repair. And that became evident when the first shot that simply relaxes them almost took him out. He was not only sick, but he was tired and old. His life had come to an end.

I mourned my dear friend, but awoke this morning knowing his misery was gone. He’s probably going around heaven right now telling all the other dogs that there are rules to rules to be followed. His cousin, Zu, is probably creating the rules as any good German shepherd does, but Sparky is ensuring that all the other dogs are obeying those rules.

And I know I’ll now have the time to focus on my needy Irish setter, Vanna. She loved her “mommy time” last night. She’ll be having her ups and downs, too, as she morphs into being the one and only, but once she figures out she is the queen bee, she’ll have a perfect life.

So when you are facing the ups and downs of everyday life, know that you aren’t the lonesome stranger. We have to have those down times to appreciate the good things we have that we’ve ignored. And I find it’s best to give someone you love a big hug. They’ll help you through those down times.

Peace to all of you and let’s keep going the distance.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mary Vaughn said,

    Oh. Brings back memories of little Chloe. I’m sure that she and Sparky are having fun together too.

    • 2

      Yeah, it’s never fun having to say good-bye to our four-legged friends. Even harder to say good-bye to our two-legged friends.

    • 3

      Taras said,

      – A pefecrt pic for a pefecrt post. What would life be with out the ups and downs. Unless we were celebs and had a nanny and personal trainer and personal chef, I don’t know if we’ll ever get where we want to be phyically. But I wouldn’t want my life to be like that anyway. How depressing to be all about ME and looking pefecrt. I’d rather find a workout program that is do able for me and still be able to be a mom and take care of my home. I may not have a six pack but I have a pack of kids and that is way more rewarding. I think you’re doing awesome by getting that group together and exercising and eating better and entering those races. My hat is off to you.

      • 4

        Thanks for your insightful comments. I bet, though, those celebs with all their help have just as many ups and downs as we have. They simply have publicists and hired help that make them look like they don’t have those ups and downs. But I agree with you, I like my life with the anonymity I have.

  2. 5

    Jeremy said,

    Can I simply just say what a cmofort to uncover somebody who genuinely understands what they’re talking about on the web. You actually realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people really need to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you are not more popular since you surely have the gift.

    • 6

      I’m glad you liked this. I think if I was more diligent about blogging every day, and doing my social media stuff daily, I’d get a broader audience. But I must balance my life so as not to lose myself in the process. I believe, if God wants me to be reaching more people, He’ll give me the time and the know how to do that. Thanks for the follow.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

